Once again, our city stands with an award. In this case, Malaga was the only Spanish city that opted for this title, granted by the European Commission to those destinations that have innovated in the sustainability of tourism development.

We have competed with 35 other cities in 17 EU states. Gothenburg and Malaga impressed the jury, mainly for their large programs of activities that they intend to carry out in 2020. We will share the distinction with Gothenburg.

The decision was made last week in Helsinki, where our Councilor for Tourism, Rosa Sánchez, had moved to defend our candidacy. As Francisco de la Torre, mayor of the city, said, “this designation, besides being a source of immense joy, can be a powerful stimulus for us to continue working to always be a technologically avant-garde city.”

The two European Capitals of Smart Tourism will benefit from communication and brand support during 2020, including a promotional video, a sculpture specially designed for their urban centers and specific promotional actions.

Congratulations Malaga!